Why bodyworkers aren't taken seriously...

Yogi

Reaction score
This post is probably going to ruffle a few feathers, especially since I'm a new kid on the block, but I'd like to see a serious discussion of this matter because I'm beginning to feel like the minority on this issue. :(

The issue is all of the focus within our profession on energy work, natural, ooey-gooey feel-goods and a myriad of other "fluffy" subjects that detract from the seriousness of what we do.

It is so frustrating to know that none of the doctors in my small town will refer patients to me simply because I'm a massage therapist. My own physician, who is also a family friend, just winces when I even mention it. After a little discussion I discover that this is because the other therapists in town tout their skills at reiki, ear candling, healing touch and all sorts of other unscientific, unfounded, and sometimes, unethical "modalities". :roll:

It seems that anyone with a video camera can suddenly "discover" a new modality. It makes it difficult to know who to trust, much less where to get my CEU's. And so far as I can tell the government (federal and state) mostly lumps us in with hairstylists and the cosmetics industry. Not that there's anything wrong with hairstylist and cosmetics folks, but what would you think if your physician was "licensed" by the same board that approved your barber? :?